Sleeveless Dress

Thus far, my main interest in historic costume has been middle and upper class 16th century German. For the most part, I have always chosen to use set in sleeves because that is what is depicted for those classes. I also prefer to use wool or silk for my outer garments because it creates a gown that looks right. But…I do live in Southern California and there are times when it is just too miserably hot to be comfortable in even light weight wool. Also, my mentor recently gifted me with some very nice mid weight linen. So, I have decided to make a sleeveless linen gown as my next project. Luckily, the sleeveless style is not without historical precedence. I started a board of paintings and woodcuts and so far, from what I can tell, it looks to be an option for the working class and peasant women throughout the sixteenth cenntury. http:// – www.pinterest.com/lalenahutton/sleeveless-dress/?s=4&m=messenger. Many of the pictures show midwives and women working outside in these sleeveless gowns with their hemd sleeves rolled up out of the way. This first set of pictures represents 1510 to mid 1540’s image For the majority of pictures I have found, the bodice is the same color as the skirt and the wide neckline can be square or rounded. The dress straps are narrow, and in the artwork where the closure is visible, it does close in the front. The skirts tend to be ankle length or else they are girded up to keep them out of the way. Bodice and skirt guarding is a possibility, but not necessary,  as both are depicted. As I looked further into the century, more depictions of working class women show up in the seventies. These are representative of 1570’s to 1590’s image The silhouette is relatively similar, but the accessories and a few details have changed. The posture of the upper body seems to have changed to a more upright look. This could be due to a change in the way the bodice is cut and stiffened or it could just be artistic license. The artwork shows them wearing a partlet and the look is very reminiscent of the Flemish working class gown popularized by Drea Leed. All of these women wear an apron of some sort. The bodice is laced closed up the front, but unlike the Flemish dress, the skirt is not open in the front. Note: The woman on the far left is Westphalian, so her clothing is influenced by Dutch fashion, which is quite evident on her headwear.  But, it is a Germanic region, and aside from the accessories, the dress is so similar that I have chosen to include it. That wraps it up for my first post. I feel like I will most likely be making an ensemble from the last quarter of the century, since I really like the look. I have more research to do first, so keep posted for updates!

2 thoughts on “Sleeveless Dress”

Leave a Reply

